copas y vino x penedes

The reputation of Spanish wine has changed enormously in recent years, and Catalonia is one of the regions that is now attracting attention from international connoisseurs as well as visitors.

Wine has been part of Catalonia for more than 2.500 years.

Catalonia has twelve denominated wine regions officially classed as D.O. (Denominació d’Origen), all of them focus mostly on so-called Mediterranean grape varieties.

1.  D.O. Empordà-Costa Brava, near the French border;
2.  D.O. Alella, in Maresme, a tiny area on the outskirts of Barcelona;
3.  D.O. Penedès, to the southwest of Barcelona;
4.  D.O. Pla de Bages (the most recent), near Manresa;
5.  D.O. Conca de Barberà, with its modernist wine cellars;
6.  D.O. Costers del Segre, to the west in Lleida;
7.  D.O. Tarragona;
8.  D.O. Terra Alta;
9.  D.O. Montsant;
10.  D.O. Q.Priorat with terraced vineyards on steep, slate hillsides in the south;
11.  D.O. Catalunya;
12.  D.O. Cava;